worldprosurfers

August 13, 2009

INTERESTING TIMES

Filed under: Bede Durbidge — wpssuperblog @ 10:52 am

bede-blog-after-jbay

There was a lot of sand on the rocks so it was barrelling more then normally it does there. I felt like I was surfing a point-break back on the Gold Coast. © Joli

Hey everybody,

It’s interesting times in pro surfing right now so I thought I would clock in.

J-Bay turned it on at the last contest. It was absolutely pumping. The key swell only lasted three days but it was epic. I felt right at home in my round two heat against Greg Emslie who is always so dangerous at J-Bay. Greg and I both got some good barrels and it was a close heat. But luckily for me I was able to pip him at the end.

My next heat on the final day was in totally different conditions. The swell dropped off and the wind was up early. I was against Damo Hobgood who is always a formidable competitor. He got the better of me but it was a super close heat. I needed a 6.9 on my last wave but came up just short with a 6.5.

Damo went on to finish second to Parko and he is having a great year. Parko was definitely the form surfer of the event. His style suits J-Bay perfectly and he was pretty much untouchable from the opening heat.

To be honest, I’m surprised he hasn’t won J-Bay more times with the way he surfs out there. He’s unbelievable. After J-Bay, I was keen to refresh the head. So I spent two weeks at home before heading to Bali where I’m currently having a break ahead of the European contests.

It was so good to be at home after being away for a month. I caught up with Elko a few times and got stuck back into my training. I also got some new boards off my shaper, Wayne McKewen, which I’m fine-tuning here in Bali. Bali has got to be the best place in the world to come for a holiday — it’s got everything!

Outside of J-Bay and the world title race, the big talk has been about the possibility of a new tour next year. Many of us aren’t yet aware of the final detail but I have a feeling that whatever develops will ultimately be good for surfing.

Frankly, there is a need for some things to change. I only really know what has come out in the media and I’m sure a lot of that is just speculation. Nothing official has emerged from the ASP yet. I’m guessing that is because both parties are still trying to work things out. I hope that happens because that is the ideal scenario. If the organisers of the new tour can work in with ASP, I believe we will get the best outcome for pro surfing.

One last note … it has been reported recently that my sponsor Mada had dropped me. That’s not right. Unfortunately, Mada has been gobbled up by the worldwide economic recession. It was a real bummer seeing that happen to a good company but I met some good people and made some life-long friends via my association with them. Maybe if we get a new tour I’ll have the opportunity to surf for a new major sponsor.

– Bede

2 Comments »

  1. Good on you for giving us comments from an insiders point of view.

    Crazy times when one of the best competition surfers currently on the planet has not got a sponsor.

    I guess that it just means you will have to go out and win Trestles again.

    Good Luck.

    Comment by SD — August 17, 2009 @ 6:25 am

  2. Go Bede! Keep sticking it to ’em sponsor or not. Your surfing is impeccable and I can´t beleive tht both you and Bobby are without clothing sponsors. Time for those brands to step it up.

    Comment by Dan — September 29, 2009 @ 12:34 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

