worldprosurfers

May 14, 2009

SCOTLAND, BRRRRR

Filed under: Bede Durbidge — Tags: , , , , — wpssuperblog @ 12:46 pm

robbo-scotland

The Thurso hot tub. © mysurfworld.com

After the week in Durban I was psyched to be back in Scotland! After winning the event last year I was really keen to try and back up that win with a good result. Driving down the main street for the first time brought back a lot of good memories I have of the place that’s for sure.

I was staying with Jack Perry for the week and we were both keen on surfing a lot to get used to wearing all the rubber! I never wear wetsuit boots, gloves or a hood in Victoria so getting used to all the equipment I believe is the key to surfing well in Scotland.

The waves were pretty fun all week and allowed us to surf a lot, and also allowed the event to go off in some pretty good waves. I ended up with a 9th place finish for the event.

I ended up being knocked out in a really close heat by Blake Thornton who surfed great all event and surfed a really smart heat. We both had a 7 and a 6-something, so it was a pretty good heat for both of us.

I was stoked with my result. It’s always tough to go back-to-back victories and I felt a bit of pressure after last year, but a 9th was great and I had a great time in Scotland! It’s an awesome event and I have met some great people from the area. So I can’t wait to go there again! I think with a good waiting period you could have an awesome WCT event there.

Now I’m back in Portland which is awesome! I haven’t been back here for a long time so I’m loving the time at home. It looks like this arvo could be some slab barrels on the high tide at a secret left and then off to boxing late this afternoon.

All’s good!

– Adam

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

