worldprosurfers

June 18, 2008

EURO SNAKE

Filed under: Jake Paterson — Tags: , , , — wpssuperblog @ 6:10 pm

Whits

 

Whits

For the last three or so weeks I have been in Europe.

Whits

I started in France (Hossegor) at the ISA world Junior Championships, run by Quiksilver. It was a long week with some great waves and some unbelievable surfing. I can tell you pro surfing is in great hands with some of the talent coming through from all different countries.

Some of the standouts in my eyes were, in the Under 18’s; Shaun Joubert from South Africa; the winner, Alejo Muniz from Brazil, who peaked right at the right time; and Owen Wright who blow away every other heat in the event and just fell short in the final.

Now to the Under 16 boys, and Holy Moly these kids were ripping!!! The winner was Tamaroa McComb from Tahiti who powered his way through to what was a pretty easy win in the end but little Peterson Crisanto from Brazil really showed he will be one to look out for in the future, another mention would go to Maxime Huscentot surfing for France.

I can also say that women’s pro surfing is going to be good hands as well with some of these girls already surfing good enough to mix it with the top pros. All in all it was a great event that Quiksilver puts on for all these kids, I think there were 27 countries and about 250 kids surfing in the event. Great job ISA and Quiksilver.

Whits

After France I was off to Italy (Rome) for a wedding and some sight seeing. As you’ll see from the pictures, some amazing churches and crazy architecture.

Whits

Whits

Some of the places I visited included; Cinque Terre, Positano …

Whits

Whits

Whits

… Rome …

Whits

… Pisa, Lucca, Orvieto, Florence …

Whits

… and Venice.

Whits

My favourites would have to be the Colosseum and Venice.

Whits

Whits

Venice is crazy how a city can live with no cars or bikes but boats!! Amazing!!!

Whits

All I can say is that I had a great time with the wife and I ate and drunk more pasta and red wine than I knew possible, and that the Ozzie dollar doesn’t go very far against the Euro!!!! Hahahahaha. Only because I’m a tight ass!!! Hahaha

Back to Bali now where I hear the swell is pumping!!!

Snake

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

