worldprosurfers

May 26, 2008

EMPTYING THE CAMERA

Filed under: Aritz Aranburu — Tags: , , , , , , — wpssuperblog @ 10:16 am

Aritz In Fiji

© aritzaranburu.com

Life in Fiji! No surfing for me until tomorrow so here’s an update of what has been happening with me since my injury way back on the Gold Coast. You can also see footage on my website aritzaranburu.com, as well as blogs posted in Spanish.

This is rainbow day

© aritzaranburu.com

This is at Rainbow Bay, right after I injured my leg. I spent most of the time recovering in France. The ligament healed very well and mobility of the knee and ankle advanced pretty quickly. I was based in the famous CERS sports rehab centre in Capbreton, located right on the beach. In fact I was watching the waves at all times which made me a little anxious, but I really enjoyed mind surfing them. If someday you have a problem like this, I strongly recommend this centre.

This is rainbow day

© aritzaranburu.com

I had started surfing a couple of weeks before Tahiti and was progressing well until I got another little sprain in my left ankle. It was nothing too serious but it meant I couldn’t surf until I got to Teahupoo. I had to wait until checking the situation once I got there to see whether I was able to compete or not.

Aritz Teahupoo

© aritzaranburu.com

I was already walking around by the time the Teahupoo event started. And the ankle actually held together well in the fat pipes that arrived with the swell. The also managed to fit in a photo sessions with the Quik team of Dane Reynolds, Ry Craike, Jeremy Flores, Clay Marzo, Alain Riou, and Micky Picon.

Teahupoo road sign

© aritzaranburu.com

I wanted more in Teahupoo, as in the heats I didn’t get too many waves. We hung around until just before Fiji, just relaxing and catching a great late swell.

Ondo Segi!

Agur,

Aritz

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

