worldprosurfers

May 29, 2007

Ski Carnage, Rik Love in Indo, & Bizarre Chest Waxing Rituals

Filed under: Tom Whitaker — wpssuperblog @ 6:48 pm

Blog time get rooted, YEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEW.

Big step for T Whits. Most people who know me would laugh at the sight of a sport addict sitting in front of a computer for any extended period of time. I’m one who jumps on the net to (a) Check my footy tipping results, (b) See if Bronte Reef is breaking and (c) every third day get my emails!(Normally about three emails a week and I find that hard to deal with).

Anyhow, here we go. After having a chat with Jake Pato, aka “The Godfather”, I’m going to attempt to put a few words together. I’ve got the French Open tennis on the TV and a huge cup of steamy hot Java and right now I’m feeing like a bit of a nerd/professional!(I kind of like it!)

Federer is leading the first set 5-4. (I’ll keep u updated!)

South Coast, a couple of months back.

South Coast, a couple of months back. © Billy Morris

OK. ’07 so far has been pretty damn fun, I won’t bore u with a recap but just a real quick overview (they are probably the same thing, ha ha ha). Contest wise its been OK, one big result at Bells and beating that guy, what’s his name? Mr Kelly Slater, goes down as one of my career highlights. Besides that its been all fun with a bit of torturous training.

My sponno Oakley brought me a new jet ski, yes, us pro surfers are spoilt, and if u ask my mates again it would be a toss of the coin what I’m more comfortable on, the ski or my computer!!! Just to prove it, my first outing was a trip across to Straddie while at the Goldie contest. Luke Steds and I nailed the test and got our licence, (I won’t tell u how many times we needed to take it but Steds did it a few more than me, ha ha). We took Phil Macca who regards himself as “Aussie Laird”(Sorry Snake, I know u like that title too). and off we went! A few little hiccups but nothing major until we arrive at Straddie and need to drive it up the beach,

“Time it just behind a wave, gun it and switch it off as u hit the beach,” Phil told me, Sweet, I nailed it, except Steds who was on the back wasn’t ready for the tip of the slide and fell off as we hit the beach at 70kms. He grabbed Phil as he fell, who then grabbed me and all of us rolled up the hard sand laughing our arses off. Phil and I kept laughing even harder when we discovered Steds had broken the tip of his board in all the fun!!!

I have made myself look pretty good here so I must confess while towing Steds into some fun peaks I thought I was the king on my new ride. As soon as u get too confident you’re gone, and yes, in my first outing I flipped the thing! IDIOT but gee we had fun.

So there is my first story and I wont kill u with too many as I’m sure these blog thingos will get harder and harder.

Rain Delay in tennis, Federer leading and one cup of coffee drunk!

The beach scene after the epic Straddie jet-ski landing

The beach scene after the epic Straddie jet-ski landing

I’ll take u straight to the present. I have just arrived home from one of my funniest trips ever and also one of the most touching. A boat trip in the Mentawais with most of my best mates on tour! Snake, TB, Steds, Clouse , the always hilarious Ronnie Blakey, photogs Nath Smith, Nate Lawrence and Pete. But the best and most incredible surfer on our trip was the freak Richard Dic Lovitt.

What an amazing story, a year and a half ago he was surfing and beating the best surfers in the world when he was diagnosed with bone cancer. Now with a metal hip he was back surfing solid 6-8′ waves with the biggest grin on his face ever. Yeah, he got the best bed and we had to make his cups of tea, and do some stuff for him I’m sure he could do himself but not one of us cared less! I have never been in a line up and watched pro surfers watch and cheer another pro surfer so much, we are normally way too competitive.

To see Ric surf like he did and push it more and more was easily one of the best surfing experiences I (and I’m sure the others) have ever had! My hats off to u Ric u truly are a legend of our sport!

On a lighter side to our trip (i wont bore u with the surf but yeah it was pumping) was a few weird music clips we did and a couple of good drinking sessions! The music clips were hilarious, can you imagine what our Indo boat crew were thinking when Snake, with a dress shirt undone, tiny bike tights and his bald head, got up and mimed and sung into a camera? I’m sure u might see a bit of it on our web site, I might start a poll to see who wants it!

Drinking games are pretty normal on boat trips and so is shaving hair so the quick outcome was: SNAKE – No hair on head (ha ha, had to throw that in), and chest. Also had to put on Clouse’s shaved hair. TAJ- No armpit hair (yuk), had his eyebrows almost gone but won them back just in time!

RIC LOVE – Chest hair gooooone.

CLOUSE- Shaved head, pretty heavy for a super model.

RONNIE – Shaved back, chest and armpits, think he liked it so much he did his testicles!!

MYSELF – Shaved chest, said I never would and now the boys at Bondi Rescue think I have finally come around! Ouch.

Well, there u go, just a few stories I hoped u enjoyed. If I get up to anything fun before Chile I’ll keep u informed. I do have a golf weekend booked with all my mates including ex WCT surfer Hitcho, so that will be a lot of laughs.

‘Til next time, keep your stubs cold, in case I drop in for one or twenty!

See Ya,

Whits

PS: Tennis still on rain delay!

2 Comments »

  1. Thanks for taking the time to keep us up to date Whits!!! It gives me something to do when I’m killing time in my cubicle wishing I was surfing. Glad to hear Richie is getting back to his old self. Good luck in Chile!!!! Oh yeah… and grow back that chest hair… it’s more manly!!!!

    Comment by Cristen — May 29, 2007 @ 8:15 pm

  2. hey whits… saw u out tamma yesterday mucking around in half a ft surf… haha it must be depressing to come home from pumping surf to nothing… has been pretty ordinary lately… good luck with the rest of the tour mate!

    Comment by jimmy — May 30, 2007 @ 3:37 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

