worldprosurfers

April 11, 2007

SLEPT IN, ALMOST MISSED HEAT, ARGHH

Filed under: Kai Otton — wpssuperblog @ 7:19 pm

kais-blog-header.jpg

Last week I was hangin’ in the wild west for the 6 star at Margarets. I had a fun event, making it to the round of 24. We had a great house to stay in up at Yallingup. It was on the fringe of a bangin’ big winery with a view of Smiths Beach. It was a maniac drive each morning with my travel buddy Troy Brooks, dodging huge big Red Kangaroos along Caves Road towards the contest site each day.

Kai

One of these Red’s is a scary hothead with sharp claws that jumps out at traffic at dawn and dusk on Caves Road, and can occasionally be seen eating its own faeces. The other is a kangaroo.

I left for Bells on the Sunday night on the dreaded ‘Red Eye’ flight; had a couple of surfs on the Monday and went to bed early for my first heat at bells the next morn.

YES, I did sleep thru my alarm clock the next morning … Fuck it!… I was 3rd heat of the day and the comp had started at 7:30. I paddled out with a vicious ‘bed head’ on and proceeded to get lost in the line-up and miss all the sets that came thru. Stinkin’ it up, some might say. Tom Whits won the heat. I need some more time out there its a real frustrating line up and hard wave to read

At the moment it’s a waiting game. Conditions aren’t looking great for the event, but I’m frothin’ cause I have Mr Bells in my heat, THE OCC. He is one of my heroes and I’m so glad to have a heat with him.

Cheers
ottz

1 Comment »

  1. Sucks you slept through the alarm but at least you still made your heat. The 33rd wasn’t a great finish top the event but at least you get a throw away. Good luck at Teahupoo!!!!!

    Comment by Cristen — April 17, 2007 @ 8:46 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

