worldprosurfers

March 15, 2007

The ‘CT Trip

Filed under: Kai Otton — wpssuperblog @ 10:37 am

kais-blog-header.jpg

I landed on the Goldy a week early for the event … the waves were pumpin’ and I definitely had a surge of instant froth take over.

I had my good mate Grant with me, and the rest of my entourage would soon arrive. I had my Dad and a handful of other good friends staying with me in an apartment onRainbow Bay.

Kai Otton

Pre-Gold Coast pit fest on the South Coast with Macca and Whits credit: Morris

I thought I would be super nervous for this event, being my first ever WCT, but for some reason I was quite relaxed. I figured I should enjoy this moment and have a lot of fun.

The waves pumped but so did the crowds, at times I was super frustrated, not getting any waves in the free surfs, but I just re-assured myself that I’ll be out there with one other person so that made it all good.

I had a great night at the ASP Banquet before the event, getting on the red wines and donning the good clobber, super fun. The event came so quick and I had a couple of great heats and ended up with a 9th placing. In my first round I had Damo Hobgood and good friend Mick Lowe. I jagged a couple of quick waves early and had a good lead on the heat and was able to hang on for the win.

… Another trophy for Kelly credit: Grambeau

… Another trophy for Kelly credit: Grambeau

Round 3: I had Bobby Martinez and I knew this would be a hard heat. I was lucky to get a wave under Bobby’s priority which ended up being my highest score. I backed this wave up with another quality score and took the win. In my 4th round with Bede Durbidge a crazy storm came in and I could not see a thing.

This heat was really low-scoring and Bede was able to adapt to the deteriorating conditions a little better and progress to the quarters. It was a great introduction to the ‘CT with really fun waves and the event set-up was amazing.

Right now, I’m at home doing some fine tune training for the next Event, Bells, looking forward to it.

Cheers
Kai

1 Comment »

  1. Congrats on the great start to your rookie year. You put on a great show for us cubicle monkies. Good luck at Bells and thanks for taking the take to write these things and give people like me something fun to watch while we work.

    Comment by Cristen — March 16, 2007 @ 3:21 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

